Week 7: the mini vacation

So, summer is officially here. How do I know? 

Because my kitten has started making a mad dash for my air conditioned hallway as soon as my apartment door is open. It’s a little funny, only because when I get close to her to pick her up, she arches her back and does a funny little sideways shuffle right into my arms. 

“Hey Mom, you’re home! Come and get me! I’m so ferocious come and get me!” 

I also am aware of summer because I took an extended weekend. For the first time in years, I took multiple days off in a row (on purpose!) and ran away to sunshine. It was hot and glorious and my legs are almost a little tanned. Also, British Columbia is in full cherry season. And my brother turned 30. So, such an occasion needs to be celebrated with a motherfucking mini vacation. 

Since I’m also in the middle of a weight loss journey/lifestyle overhaul, I was mildly terrified. How can I manage to continue on the downward curve if I’m celebrating with my family and having a few drinks and snacking? Especially since my mother, brother, AND sister-in-law are amazing chefs? I was very worried, especially with the walking away from Jenny last week. Left to my own devices, I eat like shit. Full stop. Also, I’ve done this before – losing 5 or 10 pounds and then gaining it back. 

The weekend was amazing, and I’m super proud that I made some pretty significant leaps and bounds. I definitely noticed a big change in myself – I stopped eating when I was full. I made it impossible to continue eating when I wanted to just keep eating. I drank a lot of water. I came home and did a lot of prep for the week – crestless quiche, chicken, easy salads – and then put it all into My Fitness Pal for the whole week. Will deal with cheats as I come to them, thank you very much. I even packed my gym bag with all the things I need for a day (today’s lesson- I need new shoes, a new sports bra, and leggings because good lord) so I had to take it rather than my backpack. 

That said – I avoided my scale. Like it stood me up on a date. Like it was a creep who’d sent a dick pic even when asked to stop. 

But, today, I decided to just get it over with. If I added a few pounds, I could deal with it. I really didn’t want to see that number, but it needed to happen, for sure. 

I lost again. Another .5 pounds gone. Whoop, WHOOP. 

Non-scale victories of the day: 

  • My gym leggings almost fell off today (it seems like a bad thing,  but we all know it’s a good thing)
  • I actually worked out for 50 minutes on my lunch break
  • There were zero cheats in the meal plan today

Small wins. They must be taken, because it’s a long road. And definitely one worth taking. I’m still not comfortable enough to take a full length photo (maybe when I hit the 170s), so here’s another of the escape artist. 

Leave a Reply

